Skip to main content
American Board of Wound Medicine and Surgery

Promoting and Recognizing Excellence in the Care of Patients with Wounds

The American Board of Wound Medicine and Surgery (ABWMS) offers board certification in Wound Medicine and Surgery to physicians in the United States and Canada with the goal to enhance the overall quality of care. By not only holding accountability to the practice of medicine but to the public being served as well, this independent, nonprofit organization is able to achieve its goal of promoting and recognizing excellence in the care of patients with wounds. 

A Distinguished Board of Directors

The ABWMS is guided by a Board of Directors comprised of physicians who have distinguished themselves in research, education, and patient care. The founding and current president and chair of ABWMS is Richard Simman, MD, FACS, FACCWS. He is joined by 8 other wound care professionals and together they determine qualifying criteria for examinees. They also regulate the development and administration of the exam itself. In addition to Dr. Simman, the Board of Directors includes Lee C. Ruotsi, MD, FACCWS, UHM; Sandra K. Rosenberg, MD; Michael F. Moore, MD, FACS, FACCWS; Rummana Aslam, MD; John C. Lantis, MD, FACS; Joseph A. Caprini, MD, MS, FACS, RVT; Marvin Heyboer III, MD, FACEP, FACCWS, UHM; and J. Neal Sharpe, MD, FACS. The ABWMS certification demonstrates that a physician has successfully completed appropriate training, accumulated the necessary experience in patient care, and fulfilled the examination and continuing evaluative requirements established by the Board of Directors. 

Certification Through Training, Experience, and Examination

Not only does the exam formally recognize those individuals who meet eligibility requirements and pass the Certification Examination for Physicians in Wound Medicine and Surgery, but it also encourages continued professional growth. The ABWMS believes the standards of excellence required to pass the Certification Examination ultimately will lead to optimal patient care. To express the achievement of passing the exam, all eligible candidates who pass the Certification Examination are eligible to use Diplomate after their names. This designation is recognized for 10 years, with annual registration fees, before needing to retake and pass the current Certification Examination.

The Certification Examination for Physicians in Wound Medicine and Surgery is developed by ABWMS with the assistance of the Professional Testing Corporation. In order to be eligible for the exam, candidates must be a currently licensed physician in the United States or Canada, be certified or board eligible by a relevant primary board (American Board of Medical Specialties, American Osteopathic Association, or equivalent), and have 3 years of experience in active practice of wound care documented by an institutional medical director, chief of staff, or chief clinical officer. Eligibility is also met if a candidate is enrolled in or completed a training program approved by the American Board of Medical Specialties or American Osteopathic Association and have completed a dedicated 1-year wound medicine and surgery fellowship as documented by the fellowship director, completes and files an Application for the Certification Examination for Physicians in Wound Medicine and Surgery, and pays the required fees.

Interested in Becoming Certified?

If you are a candidate interested in taking the Certification Examination, the upcoming application deadline is November 7, 2019, for the testing window of December 7 to December 21, 2019. To learn more about the exam, scheduling, and view an online practice test, visit To learn more about the ABWMS and their commitment to excellence in the practice of wound medicine and surgery, visit

Back to Top